A Little of Everything

Pinewood Derby – Do I need to say anymore?  I did this when I was in Cub Scouts and we do it now that he’s in scouts.  I think this is the 3rd year we’ve done it.  The more he grows the more he helps.  We planned on a design, got it cut out, and added the first coat of primer.  He did everything but the band saw and the chisel.

Things my father made.  I have several of my fathers tools.  Most of it is pretty self explanatory but some things are a mystery.   Lets take for example this red can.  It started life as a coffee can but what could it be now?  No clue, but I will tell you what I use it for … a oil rag.  I like to wipe down my tools before I put them away.  This seems like a perfect place to store it out of the way and lets me not have to oil all my rags.  Some of my animal people may recognize the pliers on the blue can.  That’s my J clip can.  It holds the clips and the pliers all in one.  I use them to make chicken and rabbit cages.

Such stormy weather.  Rain and wind everywhere.  I have been spending more time in the shop recently and I am burning a lot more fire wood than last year.  I don’t mind but the shop isn’t staying as warm as it could.  Its highly drafty and has tons of heat loss.  I want to put a ceiling in this summer.  If I buy a few sheets of plywood every time I go to Lowes I could have it done in a month or two.  It would make the shop cozy and a little more enjoyable.  Doing mechanical work is ok when its a little chilly.  More specific detailed things are a little harder when its cold.

Facebook.  The more and more I see the notifications the more I don’t want to use it.  Ive got the blog setup to post on my page.  I don’t think I am going to update it anymore and will turn off all notifications.  Its a nice way to quickly keep in touch but sometimes I want to type more.  Maybe the blog has better content, maybe im tired of dealing with it, maybe its so simple its complicated.

Leave a Reply

